Experiments in Dual Wield Frost Tanking as a DK

Dual Wield Frost Tanking as a Death Knight is an idea that’s fascinated me for a bit now, especially since frost DW dps was made viable [and I subsequently made my dps spec – dw frost which suited me better than blood or unholy].

I just took a look at the Elitist Jerks thread here on DW tanking builds and copied the spec,  save 2 points I elected to reallocate so I’ll be testing it out in heroics for threat.  I was able to sub in an old 226 crafted belt in place of my 232 ToC10 one and resocket it solid defense to hit the cap.  I don’t want to mess up my raiding gear until I’m sure I want to go dual wield for tanking.  I stayed hit capped and close to the expertise cap with 28% dodge and 18% parry for the moment.  Like I said, I’m loathe to ruin my raid gear until I’m sure.  For raids I’ll be staying with my old trusty 2h Inevitable  Defeat [Ignis, you better drop Worldcarver soon… srsly].

Not sure I’m going to be tanking today.  Bit tired and such, but I’ll get it tested soon and will of course update you on the results.

Author: Askevar

Raid leader and Tank. Also is an altoholic

4 thoughts on “Experiments in Dual Wield Frost Tanking as a DK”

  1. Like I said today, I OT’ed the 10man ToC as dual wield with no problems. Your tank set is far superior to mine so you shouldn’t have any issues. With the new rune coming in 3.3 it makes it even easier to pick the best weapons for tanking. =)

  2. Check WoW Armory for Dariahn on TB, she’s a DW Tank. It’s viable, it’s really freakin’ fascinating – go for it, and let us know what you think ’bout it.

    My tank is a little too invested, in-character, in Blood spec for me to try it myself.

    1. While I’m not a fan of Blood tanking, I have seen several blood tanks make it work spectacularly! I will definitely take a look at Dariahn too 😀

  3. Askevar:

    Got your link through my wordpress trackback, and thank you for adding me to your blogroll! Its a nice blog so far, keep it up!

    Firespirit

Leave a Reply

