Snottiness versus Advice

I’ve run into several instances the past few days where I get snotty advice from people. For example, I have a frost mage, with a build prescribed by a friend of mine that is designed to be both decent enough for heroics [2k plus] and survivable in PVP [no deep freeze, full torment of the weak, no water elemental glyph].  I’m NOT looking to get into much beyond heroics to be honest.  I just rather like having one of every class and I’m slowly gearing her.

I got into a pug and I pull in top damage in the instance. I’m the only one above the dk tank in fact. Said DK tank, with low hit, low expertise, squishy as all getout etc, begins to ridicule ME for not having the water elemental glyph and being fail etc because SHE has a frost mage and KNOWS.  Her frost mage is all levels of awesome you see and I am full of fail because I’m not doing it like her.

I replied that my main was in fact a DK tank and before I could add another word, she disappeared.  I suppose she didn’t want to hear what I was about to dish back.  I was a bit disappointed, but not interested enough to create a level one over on her server and give her advice she didn’t want anyway.

If you want to give advice, don’t sit there and tell me how awesome you are and how you have a frost mage, so you know better etc. Sure you can let me know you have one, but I’d couch it more in the terms of “I do thus and such on my frost mage and I find it works really well for me, you might want to give it a try”.  I’ve done that with several dks who I personally wanted to slap silly.

Be careful how you tell people to play their classes, especially when they are pulling their weight.  They might be qualified to return the favor with your current toon.

Author: Askevar

Raid leader and Tank. Also is an altoholic

4 thoughts on “Snottiness versus Advice”

  1. I don’t have a water elemental glyph on my mage’s frost spec either. It’s not a principle thing, I just haven’t gotten around to putting it on. She’s not a raiding character, or a serious pvp character, so in all honesty, I really don’t care.

  2. That kinda reminds me of a thought I had about the new LFG system. I was never one to PuG before on my own before it got introduced. So now, when I use LFG on a toon not my main (whom I feel quite confident on and is geared well), I am afraid that folks will see a sucky toon where in fact, it’s an alt I don’t spend as much time on. So far I’ve lucked out, but I’m sure I’ll get someone who feels the need to dress me down and tell me my alt sucks and proceed to get snooty.

    There are so many reasons why a toon may not have supercool gear or the best spec, so I try to be understanding about folks’ varying levels of DPS and skill or whatever. If I happen to have some advice I feel worth sharing, I’d do so in a way that doesn’t come across as an attack or condescending. But really, so long as we’re not dying, I’m cool.

    1. Dress you down you say?
      But I agree, It’s fairly obvious if a toon is a main or alt. And you know me, I love getting hunters that run growl, don’t know how to use Deterrence, Feign Death and Disengage, then end up screaming at the ‘shitty-ass noob DK tank’ while the other two DPS do twice as much on the meters and have no issues controlling their threat.

  3. Oh dear, I really hate people like that.. or people in general who act they are so awesome. Yesterday we had a druid tank in a random heroic who was like ‘wheres the dps?’ aka the dps is low. He was in amazing gear, had great amount of health.. and couldn’t tank for shit. I pulled more aggro from healing in the first few minutes than I ever have. /facepalm

Leave a Reply

