Meta Guild Group Leaves WaR :(

We have a group of people, the main portion of whom resided in WaR that made up sort of a meta guild coaltion.  They run 10 man content early on weekend mornings.  Ven [the hubby] and I have been proud members – even led the second 10 man at one point in time.  We made dozens of bars of titansteel for them, back when it was 500g a piece.  We donated mats and I even gave them quite a bit out of the GV as treasurer.  Until last night.

During an officer meeting, which we had in relation to an old member’s “heads up” who is now their ICC tank, we were trying to find out if there were problems in guild with relation to elitism.  Every accusation we received seems to have happened within their meta guild channel…  something we cannot, nor should be responsible for moderating.  Which seemed strange to us… they want autonomy but they want us to be supportive at the same time.  They’re frustrated with negativity, on their channel, none of it started by us and yet it’s somehow our responsibility.

What it ended up boiling down to was that apparently all our contributions and work were nothing… their new ICC tank is god, and we’re elitist a-holes.

What followed apparently in their channel was bashing us and WaR…  something that got back to us through friends.  We had a surprising number of people whispering us letting us know that they support us, which I suppose we shouldn’t be overly surprised at given that the meta group’s server reputation has begun to slide.  I’d be very interested to know what outrageous statements my husband Ven supposedly made, but eh, maybe it’s best I don’t know.  I don’t take bashing my husband very well.

Author: Askevar

Raid leader and Tank. Also is an altoholic

2 thoughts on “Meta Guild Group Leaves WaR :(”

  1. “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”, is my motto. I once had a nasty vent conversation with an at the time guildie. Ended up with me crying and taking away from it that he felt my RL should take a back seat to the spontaneous Karazhan that was being planned where if I didn’t go, it didn’t happen. Did I go and bash him, even in whispers to people? No. If I spoke of the incident at all, I tried to be vague and just say “We had a difference of opinion.” If ever there was a time I wanted to rage /gquit or just log off without a word, that was it (but I didn’t).

    Going around bashing others usually makes the bashee look equally bad or worse, which it sounds like is the case here. It’s juvenile. Why not handle gripes privately? Honestly, I knew nothing of this sub-group until last night, but…I can’t say I’ve seen ‘elitism’ at work in WaR. Sometimes it does seem like certain folks prefer to hang with other folks, but that’s just the nature of things. We’re human beings, not robots. We have feelings and lose our tempers and say things we shouldn’t from time to time. But this guild is alot better than others I’ve been in at communication and handling issues. I mean, I was astounded in my first week or two on the server when after a raid, the officers went in their channel for a ‘raid debrief.’ How…logical.

    Anywho….*hugs*

Leave a Reply

