Real ID

I know a lot of us are excited about the new Real ID feature being implemented today, however like many other bloggers, I will NOT be providing that information to the general public for many various and sundry obvious reasons.  Read over the information carefully and choose who you friend.  I will only be friending those people I know in real life via this system [perhaps even a few others after the system is tested] – no offense to anyone else.  I encourage you to do the same.  Know what you’re signing up for if you choose to use the system.  It is intended for real life friends to connect – as it says on the FAQ.

“Real ID is a system designed to be used with people you know and trust in real life — friends, co-workers and family — though it’s ultimately up to you to determine who you wish to interact with in this fashion. When you become Real ID friends with another player, you will be sharing your real name and opening up new communication options with that player. In addition, players who are Real ID friends with that player will be able to see your name in a “friends of friends” list, which allows people to be able to quickly send Real ID friend requests to others they may know.”

While guildies can become RL friends and guild friendships are very valuable, as I’ll be the first to tell you – exercise caution – especially in these first few days of implementation – bugs happen.

Author: Askevar

Raid leader and Tank. Also is an altoholic

8 thoughts on “Real ID”

  1. I won’t touch this until I see two things happen. One, they allow us to set a Name for the RealID and not auto use our Account name. Two, they allow us to decide if someone else can share our name with a friend.

    I’m not at all fond of the idea of anyone I friend opening me up to their friends. This just seems like a cascade effect that will have the whole player base accessing your real name and being able to see your online status.

    So i friend Bob, who has Sue friended, who has Jed friended who has Jim on Horde Side friended. Now when I gank Jim he has access to me and can send me grief tells. My ignore list isn’t long enough.

    Plus what if an ex-guildie finds out you have an alt on another server and goes there and griefs you?

    Good idea, horrible implementation if you ask me.

    1. Hubby and I are going to try it out and see what it’s like. I mean it’s not like he can’t already find my toons and vice versa. After we play with it a bit, we’ll expand from there as we feel comfortable.

  2. I’m not a fan of the whole thing. Like Kan, I wish they’d let you choose a customized name for youself (like….Endyme, for instance) vs your first AND last name. I don’t want my RL name to be associated with WoW any more than it is already. I don’t necessarily want people finding me when I’m hiding out on an alt or playing on another server. I know they’re saying this is intended for RL friends to connect, but I’m sure that’s not how alot of folks are going to use it. I may trust Askevar, but do I trust the buddies she’s friended? Not necessarily. I currently have no plans to use RealID. I just don’t see the point. If Askevar (the only person I know from RL who plays WoW) really, really wants to get in touch with me and I’m not in game, she’s got my phone number and knows how to use it. The only other person I’d be tempted to friend with RealID…well, we’ve managed to keep in touch well enough for 5 years now, so I’m fine with that.

  3. I’ll join the “not impressed” club. My sister and I even agreed not to use it on each other because of the friend-of-a-friend access. No way I want to give that sort of access willy-nilly to anyone and everyone on both of our lists. I’d also like to see the option to set a name, so ditto to all of that.
    They seem to have (as they said) designed it to be extremely intrusive so that only real-life friends will want to use it (and even then maybe not). Which is a shame, really, when you think about it, because with a few tweaks it could be a very nice update to the friends list. Allow players to set their display name and which alt(s) can be tracked and very few people would have a problem with it.

    1. I’ve added my best friend in RL and hubby. I have to admit it’s neat for one thing. My best friend and I have the same main server but we have different alternate servers [she’s leveling a toon on her old server and I’m working on one on another server… oh so slowly]- it makes it easy to chat rather than having to go through an instant messaging program.

      She can only see my hubby [my only other Real ID friend] and he can only see her – course since they know each other to begin with, no problems there. We also agreed that before adding anyone else, we’ll check with each other and probably unfriend the other in that case unless things are changed.

      That said, we aren’t planning on adding anyone else.

      So I’m impressed thus far with the feature for RL friends… but I really think they could do more for the in-game friendships – perhaps levels of friendship designation – RL, Trusted Guild, etc… along with allowing you to change the display name and indicate whether or not random alt X is invisible to your list or visible.

      1. Well that’s it exactly. I had a friend from in game text me last night and ask for my battle.net email and though I trust him enough to give him my phone number and would be inclined to friend him, the friends of friends thing stops me cold. I don’t want him to see Askevar and her hubby’s name, their real names. I had to tell him I’m not using the RealID thing, which is a shame, cause he plays on a different server than I do now and it’d be neat to be able to chat him up while we’re on our respective servers. There’s another in-game friend I trust very much, but don’t want to add him because of the friend of friend thing.

        If they just made a few tweaks, it could be really neat. But real names, friends of friends being able to see your name and the inability to ‘hide’ any of your toons are features I’m not a fan of. Sekrit alts? Not with RealID. Off playing Starcraft when you’re supposed to be raiding? RealID will out you! Blarg.

  4. Trying it with my wife and brother on Oceanic. Not a big deal so far. Will most likely add another long time US friend that’s been playing WOW with us for 5 years and even moved server with us.

    I am not convinced that the friend-o-friend will be an issue. Yes – they do see the names of your friends… but that’s where it stops. That’s not much different from say Twitter or Facebook at all – and those two platforms are even more open.

Leave a Reply

