Taking the Shiny Off the Penny

Well, I got a Cataclysm invite…  And well… I’ve not even been able to get the files to install.

The file “MPQs-2\Cataclysm common\unconditional\Data#expansion3.MPQ\Sound\Ambience\LostIslesPhase1_Day.wav_” in archive “G:\Games\CataclysmBeta\Cataclysm Pre-Release 11927 enUS\Installer Tome 2.mpq” could not be opened, because an error 2 occurred. If this problem persists, please contact Blizzard Technical Support. (MPQFile::OpenFromArchive)

This error pops up EVERY single time [I have re-downloaded the installer about 15 times and tried installing at least three times that – this is over my head].  I tried installing on hubby’s computer and same deal.  Hubby’s gone through and tried some things [he works in software development] but says it seems like a file is missing in the initial download.  Something also screwed my computer up enough that we had to do a restore because it stopped showing the desktop icons at all.

I’ve contacted tech support [two days ago] and have yet to get a reply and I can’t post on the forums without a character… I need the game installed to get a character…    So I’m kinda stuck until whatever is magically fixed.

So yeah, kinda bummed.

Author: Askevar

Raid leader and Tank. Also is an altoholic

5 thoughts on “Taking the Shiny Off the Penny”

  1. Have you tried copying a character over? Once it’s on the Beta account, you should be able to select it on the forums and post.

    I hope this works for you, because Europe got screwed in the first days of alpha – couldn’t install, couldn’t copy chars, couldn’t make new ones… so there was NO way to ask for help. That sucked bad.

    1. We had a corrupted download. Managed to get a good one but we’re downloading patch after patch now. No clue when the end is coming lol.

      Hubby grumbles any time he deals with it about the quality of their beta [he says it’s developer only ready… not even alpha]. But he’s a software programmer so I sorta expect that.

      I am a bit dismayed that working with the downloads and such is over my head [I am quite computer literate]. But thankfully hubby can unravel a lot of it.

      So… time will tell.

      We’re starting a patch downloading every night right before we go to bed, and hubby starts one as he leaves for work each morning. When the end is found, I’ll post more lol 😛

Leave a Reply

